Lackawanna College Athletes Acknowledged for Athletic Performances

Lackawanna College Athletes Acknowledged for Athletic Performances

Scranton, PA – Wednesday evening the Lackawanna College Athletic Department honored its student-athletes with its annual Fall Athletic Banquet. The department recognized those students who participated in the school's autumn sports; and allowed the head coach of each team to name the squad's MVP and to present Conference or Region XIX awards to their players.

The following teams presented its awards for the 2014 campaign.

Tennis: Head Coach, Dana E. Ciccotti, named Victoria Henning (Scranton, PA) as the team's Most Valuable Player.

Volleyball: Head Coach, Kellyn Nolan, recognized Mileah Fowler (Lawrenceville, GA) as the team's MVP; and acknowledged Kiana Moore and Lataysia Pryor for their selection to the Region XIX Division II First Team. Fowler and Moore were also acknowledged for their selection to the Eastern Pennsylvania Athletic Conference First Team.

Soccer: Head Coach, Dan Berg, selected Alexandria Chapman (South Abington Twp., PA) as his Most Valuable Player. He also recognized his All Region selection of Nadine Stevens Region XIX Division I Second Team.

This year's banquet also gave Coach Berg the opportunity to present the sixth annual "Sydney Fahrenbach Award". This award goes to the soccer player who best exhibits the athletic, academic and leadership characteristics of the team's 2009 co-captain, who died prematurely before the start of that season. Previous winners were Shannon Krajkovich (Archbald, PA); Abigail Rodway (Peckville, PA); Brittany Surace (Scott Township, PA); Jessica Korshnak (Madison Twp, PA); and, Kathleen Kehlenbeck (Sparrow Bush, NY). This year's winner was Megan Tweedy of Scott Township, Pennsylvania.

Football: Coach Duda named his three Most Valuable Players, one on offense, one on defense, and a team MVP. The Offensive MVP was DeLonte Murray (Burtonsville, MD); the Defensive MVP was John Whitman (Columbus, OH); and the team MVP was DeAndre Black (Pittsburgh, PA).

Coach Duda also announced this year's Northeast Football Conference selections

First Team Offense: Wide Receiver, DeAndre Black (Pittsburgh, PA)

First Team Offense: Offensive Lineman, Delonte Murray (Burtonsville, MD)

First Team Defense: Linebacker, John Hall (Glen Burne, MD)

First Team Defense: Defensive Tackle, John Whitman (Columbus OH)

First Team Defense: Safety, Rontrell Peyton (Alexandria, VA)

Second Team Offense: Wide Receiver, Ka'Raun White (Macungie, PA)

Second Team Offense: Running Back, Terry Norris (Springfield, MA)

Second Team Offense: Lineman, Ashton Julious (Florence, SC)

Second Team Defense: Defensive End, Derrick Dixon (Lancaster, PA)

Second Team Defense: Defensive Back, Tyree Jefferson (Philadelphia, PA)

Third Team Offense: Quarterback, Faustino Saucedo (Perth Amboy, NJ)

Third Team Defense: Defensive Tackle, Martez Stone (Cleveland, OH)

Third Team Defense: Defensive Back, Kyzir White (Macungie, PA)