Lackawanna Foursome named to All EPAC Team

Lackawanna Foursome named to All EPAC Team

Schnecksville, PA.- The Eastern Pennsylvania Athletic Conference announced its Softball All Conference Team, as voted by the conference coaches, on Monday May 1st. Pitcher Barbara Verrastro of Lackawanna College was named the EPAC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Coaches Jeff Pittsman from Lackawanna College and Jennifer Shellhammer-Getz from Lehigh Carbon Community College also repeated as Co-Coaches of the Year. Lackawanna College won the conference championship finishing the season 8-0.

The four Lady Falcons who were named to the team were Barbara Verrastro, Moriah Lynn, Marina Pegula and Sierra Mulgrew.

Both Verrastro and Lynn are sophomores and will be competing elsewhere next season. Verrastro, a pitcher/first baseman, has signed a NCAA Letter of Intent to attend Division I Saint Peters University in Jersey City New Jersey; while Lynn, a third baseman/pitcher, has verbally committed to Clarion University of Pennsylvania in Clarion, Pennsylvania.

Pegula, a shortstop, and Mulgrew, an outfielder/first baseman, are freshman and will be returning to play for head coach, Jeff Pittsman, in the 2018 season.

All four players are local products; Verrastro is a resident of Scott Township, Pennsylvania and graduate of Lakeland HS; Lynn is from Berwick, Pennsylvania and is a graduate of Berwick Area HS; Pegula resides in Dunmore, Pennsylvania and graduated from Dunmore HS, Pennsylvania; and, Mulgrew lives in Scranton, Pennsylvania and is a graduate of West Scranton HS.