Lackawanna College’s Mark Duda to be honored by ECAC

Lackawanna College’s Mark Duda to be honored by ECAC

The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced that Mark Duda, Lackawanna College's Head Football Coach, has been selected as the American Football Network's JUCO Coach of the Year. This award will be presented to Duda at the annual Eastern College Football Awards Banquet on Thursday, Feb. 23, 2017 at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.  Coach Duda is being recognized for leading his team to a 10-1 record and winning the Northeast Football Conference this season. The Falcon's only loss came in double overtime during the Valley of the Sun Bowl, as Lackawanna battled Mesa Community College in Mesa, Ariz.

This year marks the third time that the award will be presented to a head coach of a two-year program. Previous winners include Joe Osovet (2014) and Cameron Chadwick (2015).

James Franklin will be accepting the Lambert Trophy, one of the nation's oldest and prestigious trophies, on behalf of Penn State University.

Other's awards being presented that evening are:

Vince Lombardi Foundation Coach of the Year - Monte Cater - Shepherd University

Bob Ford FCS Coach of the Year - Mike Houston - James Madison University
Jim Butterfield DIII Coach of the Year - Mike Welch - Ithaca College
Jimmie McDowell FBS Communications Award - Scott Strasemeier - United States Naval Academy
Kathy Slattery FCS Communications Award - Joe DiBari - Fordham University
Bob Kenworthy DIII Communications Award - Roger Crosley - New England Football Writers
American Football Networks DII Player of the Year - Billy Brown - Shepherd University
American Football Networks DII Offensive Lineman of the Year - Jordan Morgan – Kutztown University
Jay Berwanger DIII Player of the Year - A.J. LiCata - Alfred University
Clyde "Bulldog" Turner DIII Offensive Lineman of the Year - Willie Britt - Muhlenberg College
Rocky Myers DIII Defensive Player of the Year  - Austin Tennessee - Stevenson University

The banquet will be held in the Toyota Club at MetLife Stadium. The cocktail hour will commence at 6 p.m., with dinner and awards to follow. Tickets for the event are $120 with tables of 10 available for $1,150. Tickets can be purchased on line at Attendees are asked to RSVP by February 10, 2017.