Wexler Awarded Coveted Seeley Award

Wexler Awarded Coveted Seeley Award

Scranton PA - The Lackawanna College Athletic Department is honored to announce the recipients of its winter and spring team honors; and, the college's achievement awards presented annually in recognition of the academic and sportsmanship accomplishments of its student athletes during the academic year.

Sterling B. Seeley Award

The Seeley Award is given annually to an individual who demonstrates all-around abilities as a student and an athlete as well as an active involvement in the community. It is named in honor of Sterling B. Seeley, who was an essential part of the administration of this college for over forty-five years. He was the person responsible for the introduction of many of Lackawanna College's athletic programs and for making those programs a vital segment of the college. The Sterling B. Seeley award is the most prestigious honor that can be bestowed on a Lackawanna College student athlete and is the summation of all that the college wants its sports programs to embody.

This year's esteemed recipient was Juliah Wexler

Wexler has earned sports success on the field, where as a two year participant she was a starting mid fielder and defender on the Lackawanna women's soccer team. She was the 2015 team captain and was named the team's "Most Valuable Player"

A mature individual who understands the importance of community service, Wexler has volunteered her time at United Neighborhood Centers, Angel's Attic, the Feed a Friend Program and the Boy's & Girl's Club-Scranton.

A true student – athlete, Wexler's achievements in the class room matches her performance on the field. She presently has 3.91 GPA in Business Administration and will be continuing her playing and academic career at West Chester University upon her graduation from Lackawanna College. She is a recipient of the PASSHE Scholarship and has been selected to be the student speaker at Lackawanna's 2016 Graduation Ceremony.

On learning of that Wexler was to receive the Seeley Award, her soccer coach, Dan Berg said, "It couldn't go to a more deserving person, she is mature and responsible both on and off the field. She has taken advantage of the opportunities provided to her at Lackawanna. She is a vocal leader who leads through her words and actions twenty four hours a day, seven days a week."

Academic and Sportsmanship Achievement Awards

There are five Athletic Department Awards given to honor its athlete's academic and sportsmanship accomplishments. Those awards are:

Board of Trustees Student-Athlete Academic Excellence Award

The Board of Trustees Student-Athlete Academic Excellence Award which is given annually to a returning freshman who has demonstrated educational excellence while participating in sports. The individual selected to receive this award will have achieved the highest grade point average of all freshmen student/athletes.

This year's award went to co-winners, Alexander Varaksa (Baseball); Kelly Snyder (Softball) and Maria Christoff (Volleyball). Varaksa is majoring in Pre Allied Health, Snyder is majoring in Liberal Studies, while Christoff is seeking a degree in Pre Diagnostic Medical Sonography.

Academic Awards

The academic awards are given annually to the outstanding male and female student-athletes who have demonstrated educational excellence while participating in sports. The award is presented to those students who have achieved the highest cumulative averages among participants during their two years at Lackawanna College.

This year, the male academic award went to Roger Clarke (Basketball). Clarke has a GPA of 3.55 in Pre Allied Health and will be transferring to either Dowling College or Pfeiffer University after graduating from Lackawanna College.

Bethany Mickavicz (Softball) was the female recipient of the Award with a GPA of 3.91 in Accounting. She will be transferring to the Keystone University after graduation.

Margaret "Peg" Tobin Sportsmanship Award

Margaret "Peg" Tobin Sportsmanship Award: The Margaret "Peg" Tobin Sportsmanship Award is annually awarded to the male and female student-athletes who have excelled on and off the field. It recognizes persons who are fair, generous and gracious in victory or defeat and whose contributions to the team are varied and vital.

This year's Male Award was bestowed upon Tyler Salak (Golf). Salak will be transferring to Keystone University after graduating from Lackawanna this spring with a degree in Business Studies.

This year's Female Award was presented to Kwanza Murray (Basketball) Murray is a student in the Communications Arts program, and will be transferring to South Carolina State or North Carolina Central University after graduation.

Shane Rivenburgh Memorial Award

The first time, the Shane Rivenburgh Memorial Award was presented. The recipient of this award is a baseball player who best exemplifies the athletic, academic and leadership characteristics of the Lackawanna player, who tragically died during the 2016 season; and whose work ethic, hardnosed playing style, love of the game and respect for opponents, teammates, coaches and officials, epitomizes the spirit of Shane Rivenburgh. The inaugural award went to Carlos Gomez.

Most Valuable Player Awards

This Winter/Spring's Most Valuable Player awards were presented to:

Men's Basketball – Mark Perry,
Women's Basketball –Kayla Henderson,
Softball – Katie Yale,
Baseball – Ethan Bowen,
Golf – Zachery Moore,

All Region XIX

The following athletes have received certificates recognizing their selection to the All Region Team in their respective sports:

Men's Basketball – Mark Perry – First Team
Men's Basketball – Quintin Ward – Second Team
Softball – Mikaela Browdy – First Team
Softball – Barbara Verrastro – First Team
Softball – Jessica Bobersky – Second Team


The following individuals have received certificates recognizing their selection to the All EPAC team in their respective sports:

Softball – Barbara Verrastro – First Team – EPAC Player of the Year
Softball – Mikaela Browdy – First Team
Softball – Jeff Pittsman – Coach of the Year